Loading articles...

McGuinty unveils smaller cabinet with familiar faces

Ontario Premier Dalton McGuinty introduced a new, smaller cabinet with no new faces on Thursday.

The lineup of ministers is smaller—the cabinet will now reportedly only contain 22 posts, including the premier, down from 28.

Dwight Duncan was re-appointed as minister of finance immediately after the Oct. 6 election in which voters handed the Liberals a minority.

The day after the election McGuinty said Duncan would be preparing an economic update.

Health Minister Deb Matthews will also remain in her post.

Brad Duguid was shuffled out of the massive energy portfolio and will now lead the Ministry of Economic Development and Innovation.

Attorney General Chris Bentley replaces Duguid at the Ministry of Energy.

Laurel Broten moves up to manage the Ministry of Education, replacing Leona Dombrowsky, who was defeated in the election. Broten formerly managed the children and youth services portfolio.

And Kathleen Wynne, who managed the transportation file, is the new Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing.

Opposition parties say McGuinty has missed an opportunity to show voters that he understood their call for change by appointing the same ministers to cabinet.

The NDP and Tories say the Liberals were reduced to just 53 seats in the Oct. 6 election — one short of a majority — because voters were not happy with the status quo.

With files from The Canadian Press