Loading articles...

Hockey Canada unveils its team for world junior hockey championship

CALGARY – The Canadian junior men’s hockey team released 13 players Wednesday morning to finalize the 22-man roster that will represent the host country at the upcoming world junior hockey championship.

Named to the team were goaltenders Mark Visentin and Scott Wedgewood with Nathan Beaulieu, Brandon Gormley, Jamie Oleksiak, Dougie Hamilton, Scott Harrington, Ryan Murray and Mark Psysyk all on defence.

Up front, Freddie Hamilton, Quinton Howden, Jonathan Huberdeau, Tanner Pearson, Mark Scheifele, Devante Smith-Pelly, Mark Stone, Ryan Strome, Michael Bournival, Brett Connolly, Brendan Gallagher, Boone Jenner and Jaden Schwartz will skate for Canada.

The players released included goaltenders Louis Dominigue and Tyler Bunz, defencemen Cody Ceci, Alex Petrovic, Ryan Murphy and Joe Morrow as well as forwards Brett Bulmer, Phil Di Guiseppe, Tyler Toffoli, Christian Thomas, Ty Rattie, Brad Ross and Phillip Danault.

Edmonton and Calgary will host this year’s world event. Canada opens the tournament Dec. 26 in Edmonton.

Canada will play exhibition games in Calgary, Red Deer, Alta., and Edmonton next week.