Loading articles...

Advance polls open for Ontario byelections

Elections officials at a polling station during the Ontario provincial election in Mississauga on Oct. 10, 2007. THE CANADIAN PRESS/J.P. Moczulski

Advance polls began Saturday for the five Ontario byelections to be held on August 1.

The advance polls will run until July 26.

Voter registration cards have been mailed out, and Elections Ontario reminds voters to take their card and identification with them when they head out to vote.

Anyone who did not receive a ‘notice of registration card’ can still vote. Click here for more details.

Click here for the locations and times of the advanced polls.

Byelections are being held in: Etobicoke-Lakeshore, London West, Ottawa South, Scarborough-Guildwood and Windsor-Tecumseh.

They’re all to replace MPPs who have left office since February.

Former premier Dalton McGuinty (Ottawa South), former finance minister Dwight Duncan (Windsor-Tecumseh), former energy minister Chris Bentley (London West), former education minister Laurel Broten (Etobicoke-Lakeshore) and Margarett Best (Scarborough-Guildwood) have all quit.