Loading articles...

Toronto council approves grace period for street parking & new priority neighborhoods

After a lengthy final day of debate, Toronto city council approved a grace period for street parking and a new list of priority neighbourhoods.

The meeting, originally scheduled for two days, stretched until about 11 p.m.  on Thursday, the third day of debate.

Council approved a 10-minute grace period for parking tickets at on-street pay-and-display spots.

Council also approved a revised list of priority neighbourhoods, now called strong neighbourhoods.

Those neighbourhoods are:

  • Black Creek
  • Glenfield-Jane Heights
  • Mount Dennis
  • Beechborough-Greenbrook
  • Oakridge
  • Mount Olive-Silverstone-Jamestown
  • Elms-Old Rexdale
  • Regent Park
  • Thorncliffe Park
  • South Parkdale
  • Crescent Town (recommended to be renamed Taylor-Massey)
  • Rockcliffe-Smythe
  • Scarborough Village
  • Humber Summit
  • Rustic
  • Ionview
  • Flemingdon Park
  • Weston
  • Humbermede
  • Eglinton East
  • Morningside
  • Downsview-Roding-CFB
  • West Hill
  • York University Heights
  • Woburn
  • Thistletown-Beaumond Heights
  • Keelesdale-Eglinton West
  • Victoria Village
  • Weston-Pellam Park
  • Kingsview Village-The Westway
  • Kennedy Park