Loading articles...

Canadian government officially lists Proud Boys a terrorist entity

Last Updated Feb 3, 2021 at 7:52 pm EDT

The Proud Boys have been declared a terrorist organization by the Canadian government.

Minister of Public Safety, Bill Blair, made the announcement on Wednesday, saying the Proud Boys are among 13 new groups added to the list.

Four of the newly-added entities are defined as neo-Nazi groups. Along with the Proud Boys, they are: Atomwaffen Division, Russian Imperial Movement, and The Base.

Several Islamic terror groups defined as Al Qaida affiliated were also added.

“They are all hateful, intolerant and we have seen they can be dangerous,” Blair said. “We have seen the type of tragic results that this kind of extremism can bring to Canada.”

Blair called radical extremism “the most significant threat to domestic security in Canada.”

The move comes after the House of Commons passed a unanimous motion last week to designate the Proud Boys a terrorist entity.

RELATED: House of Commons passes motion to designate Proud Boys a terrorist entity

Founded by Canadian Gavin McInnes, the Proud Boys are a right-wing group that is unapologetically misogynist and increasingly linked to white supremacy and hate.

The group was banned by Facebook and Instagram in October 2018 for violating their hate policies.

Several members of the group were reportedly among those who stormed Capitol Hill in Washington, D.C., following a speech by Donald Trump.