Quick guide: What the COVID-19 colour-coded framework means for your region

By News Staff

With Ontario’s COVID-19 state of emergency expiring Tuesday, the province will transition back to the colour-coded reopening plan that eases restrictions based on COVID-19 case counts in respective regions starting Wednesday.

That system has now been modified to allow some degree of in-person shopping at non-essential stores at all levels, including the grey-lockdown level.

Almost all public health units will enter into the framework on February 16 as the stay-at-home order expires for them while COVID-19 hotspots Toronto, Peel, and York regions along with North Bay-Parry Sound will be the last to re-enter the framework about a week later, on Feb. 22.

Here is a look at the changes in the framework for stores, organized events, restaurants and bars, personal care services and gyms and other recreational facilities (click image to expand):

Source: Ontario.ca

Here is where all the regions will be in the framework on Feb. 16, apart from the four regions remaining in lockdown:


  • Niagara Region Public Health


  • Chatham-Kent Public Health;
  • City of Hamilton Public Health Services;
  • Durham Region Health Department;
  • Halton Region Public Health;
  • Middlesex-London Health Unit;
  • Region of Waterloo Public Health and Emergency Services;
  • Simcoe-Muskoka District Health Unit;
  • Southwestern Public Health;
  • Thunder Bay District Health Unit;
  • Wellington-Dufferin Guelph Public Health; and
  • Windsor-Essex County Health Unit.


  • Brant County Health Unit;
  • Eastern Ontario Health Unit;
  • Haldimand-Norfolk Health Unit;
  • Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit;
  • Huron Perth Public Health;
  • Lambton Public Health;
  • Ottawa Public Health;
  • Porcupine Health Unit; and
  • Public Health Sudbury and Districts.


  • Algoma Public Health;
  • Grey Bruce Health Unit;
  • Northwestern Health Unit; and
  • Peterborough Public Health.


  • Leeds, Grenville and Lanark District Health Unit;
  • Timiskaming Health Unit.
  • Hastings Prince Edward Public Health;
  • Kingston, Frontenac and Lennox & Addington Public Health; and
  • Renfrew County and District Health Unit

Top Stories

Top Stories

Most Watched Today