Loading articles...

Halton, Durham move to 'red zone' as Ontario moves 27 regions into colour-coded framework

Last Updated Feb 12, 2021 at 3:02 pm EST

A man and woman sit outdoors for drinks under a clear plastic structure on The Danforth in Toronto on Oct. 31, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Rachel Verbin THE CANADIAN PRESS IMAGES/Rachel Verbin

The province began a gradual reopening of its economy Wednesday by lifting the stay-at-home order for three regions

The rest of the province, except for three hotspots in the GTA, are set to have the order lifted next week

Toronto, Peel Region and York Region are set to remain under the stay-at-home order until at least Feb. 22

Ontario will be moving 27 public health regions back into the colour-coded framework as the stay-at-home order ends in these areas on Tuesday.

Halton and Durham are among several regions moving to the red zone where gyms and restaurants will be allowed to reopen with restrictions.

Toronto, York Region, Peel Region and North Bay-Parry Sound will remain under the stay-at-home order until Feb. 22.

Once returning to the framework, each region will stay in their colour for at least two weeks at which time the government will assess if it can be moved or needs to be moved to a different colour.

Here are the following classifications for the health units moving back to the framework:


  • Niagara Region Public Health


  • Chatham-Kent Public Health;
  • City of Hamilton Public Health Services;
  • Durham Region Health Department;
  • Halton Region Public Health;
  • Middlesex-London Health Unit;
  • Region of Waterloo Public Health and Emergency Services;
  • Simcoe-Muskoka District Health Unit;
  • Southwestern Public Health;
  • Thunder Bay District Health Unit;
  • Wellington-Dufferin Guelph Public Health; and
  • Windsor-Essex County Health Unit.


  • Brant County Health Unit;
  • Eastern Ontario Health Unit;
  • Haldimand-Norfolk Health Unit;
  • Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit;
  • Huron Perth Public Health;
  • Lambton Public Health;
  • Ottawa Public Health;
  • Porcupine Health Unit; and
  • Public Health Sudbury and Districts.


  • Algoma Public Health;
  • Grey Bruce Health Unit;
  • Northwestern Health Unit; and
  • Peterborough Public Health.


  • Leeds, Grenville and Lanark District Health Unit; and
  • Timiskaming Health Unit.


RELATED: March break postponed to week of April 12 for all Ontario schools

Each level has a different set of restrictions. You can find all the details in this graph provided by the province:

The government has warned that a sudden spike in cases could delay the reopening of any region in the province.